South Asia

Alert: IFJ launches South Asia Media Freedom Report on World Press Freedom Day

02 May, 2020

The IFJ will launch the 18th annual South Asia Press Freedom Report – States of Control: Covid, Cuts and Impunity at 07:00 (New Delhi time) on May 3, 2020. Our launch coincides with World Press Freedom Day, themed “Journalism without Fear or Favour”.  

As part of the pre-launch, read the chapter “The Pandemic and the Press here.

You will be able to find a copy of the report on its release at 07:00 (New Delhi time) here.

 

 

Time of report launch:

01:30 UTC time

03:30 Brussels and Paris

06:00 Kabul

06:30 Islamabad and Malé

07:00 Colombo, New Delhi and Thimphu

07:30 Dhaka

07:15 Kathmandu

11:30 Sydney

For media inquiries please contact Umesh Pokharel (southasia@ifj-asia.org).

We wouldn’t have been able to do this report without the South Asia Media Solidarity Network (SAMSN), including the Afghan Independent Journalists’ Association, Bangladesh Manobadhikar Sangbadik Forum, Federation of Nepali Journalists, Free Media Movement Sri Lanka, Indian Journalists’ Union, Journalists Association of Bhutan, Maldives Journalists’ Association, Media Development Forum Maldives, National Union of Journalists (India), National Union of Journalists (Nepal), Nepal Press Union, Pakistan Federal Union of Journalists and the Sri Lanka Working Journalists’ Association.

Written By

IFJ Asia-Pacific IFJ Asia-Pacific

The IFJ represents more than 600,000 journalists in 140 countries.
For further information contact IFJ Asia-Pacific on +61 2 9333 0946
Find the IFJ on Twitter: @ifjasiapacific
Find the IFJ on Facebook: www.facebook.com/IFJAsiaPacific

Comments